| borg-repo-delete(1) | borg backup tool | borg-repo-delete(1) |
Name¶
borg-repo-delete - Deletes a repository.
SYNOPSIS¶
borg [common options] repo-delete [options]
DESCRIPTION¶
This command deletes a complete repository.
When you delete a complete repository, the security info and local cache for it (if any) are also deleted. Alternatively, you can delete just the local cache with the --cache-only option, or keep the security info with the --keep-security-info option.
Always first use --dry-run --list to see what would be deleted.
OPTIONS¶
See borg-common(1) for common options of Borg commands.
options¶
- -n, --dry-run
- do not change the repository
- --list
- output a verbose list of archives
- --force
- do not ask for confirmation, just delete the repository. this also works if the repository is damaged to a point where its archives can not be listed anymore.
- --cache-only
- delete only the local cache for the given repository
- --keep-security-info
- keep the local security info when deleting a repository
EXAMPLES¶
# delete the whole repository and the related local cache: $ borg repo-delete You requested to DELETE the following repository completely *including* 2 archives it contains: ------------------------------------------------------------------------------ Repository ID: e7046adda9b2a76bb4fac8d707ab7dc12a836391c8c3612cc12d461e713c5bc1 Location: /path/to/repo ------------------------------------------------------------------------------ Type 'YES' if you understand this and want to continue: YES
SEE ALSO¶
Author¶
The Borg Collective
| 2026-09-26 |